The outgoing President Professor Alison Yarrington, the new President Sir Kent Woods (seated) and the Lord Mayor of Leicester Councillor Rashmikant Joshi

Officers of the Society

President :

  • Sir Kent Woods MA MD ScM FRCP FMedSci

Life Vice-Presidents:

  • Sir David Attenborough CH OM FRS
  • Professor M. A. Khan, B.Sc.,Ph.D., F.G.S., F.R.A.S., F.R.S.A.
  • Mrs H. A .E. Lewis, J.P., M.A.

Vice Presidents:

  • Professor Alison Yarrington PhD FRSA FSA FRSE
  • Mrs Joan Beeson BSc
  • Mrs Ann Fuchs
  • Mr Michael Taylor BA Dip TP MA MRTP IHBC

Hon. Secretary:

  • Mr John Heard

Hon. Membership Secretaries:

  • Mr D. Beeson
  • Mrs J. Beeson, B.Sc.

Hon. Programme Secretaries:

  • Dr D. G. Lewis, M.A., M.D., F.R.C.A.
  • Mrs H. A. E. Lewis, J.P., M.A.

Hon. Treasurer:

  • Mr M. Kirk, O.B.E, F.C.A.

Hon. Editor of Transactions:

  • Dr D. G. Lewis, M.A., M.D., F.R.C.A.

Hon Publicity Officer

  • Dr Diana Thurston

Assistant Publicity Officer

  • Mrs Ann Fuchs

Website Editor:

  • Professor JC Fothergill MSc PhD CEng CPhys FIET FIEEE FInstP

Members of Council

  • Professor PJ Boylan BSc PhD FGS FMA FBIM FRSA
  • Mr Kanti Chhapi Dip Arch FRIBA
  • Mr B Greaves BA Dip Arch
  • Mrs J Humphreys MA
  • Professor JH Holloway OBE BSc PhD DSc C.Chem FRSC
  • Professor J Phelan MA PhD
  • Professor M Stannard BA MA DPhil FEA FRLS
  • Dr B Towle CBE DL
  • Professor N.P. Wood BA MA PhD
  • The Vice Chancellor of De Montfort University represented by Professor Phelan
  • The President and Vice Chancellor of The University of Leicester represented by Professor Stannard
  • The Vice Chancellor of Loughborough University represented by Professor Wood
  • One representative of the Geology Section
  • One representative of the Natural History Section
  • Geology Section: Hon. Secretary Ms F Barnaby
  • Natural History Section: Hon. Secretary Mrs R Hayes

Independent Examiners:

  • Mr K. Smithson, F.C.I.B, M.I.Mgt. F.R.S.A.
  • Mr P. E. K. Fuchs, M.A.